Mohammad Nabi replaces Mangal as T20 skipper for Asian Games

Afghanistan all rounder Mohammad Nabi took over as the skipper of the Afghanistan cricket team from Nawrooz Mangal in the squad announced for the 2010 Asian Games to be held in Guangzhou, China. The 14 member squad for the T20 games in the multi-sport event includes Mohammad Nabi (Captain), Karim Sadiq (Vice Captain), Nawrooz Mangal, Mirwais Ashraf, Mohammed Shihzad, Hamid Hasan, Samiullah Shinwari, Asghar Stanikzai, Shahpoor Zadran, Mohammad Sami, Aftab Alam, Gulbodeen Naib, Shabir Noori and Shafiqullah Shafaq. Mohammad Sami from Kandahar province has been included as the new member in the squad after his spectacular performances in the domestic T20 competition this year. Asian cricketing giant India has skipped this competition and it will benefit Afghanistan cricket team as they will get direct entry into the quarter finals with Sri Lanka, Pakistan and Bangladesh. Afghanistan will play their first quarter final match on 24th of November. Their opponent for the first match might be either Nepal, Hong Kong or Maldives and it will be decided based on the qualifying stage results for the other three teams.

The full schedule for cricket matches in the Asian Games was posted earlier by one of my fellow editors Shortthirdman in an earlier post in August. If you want to check the full schedule you can check this post.

Share This Post

One Comment - Write a Comment

Post Comment

CommentLuv badge